I sat on an outcropping of rock today, high above the ocean, and just watched for a while.  The incessant inrush of the waves and the people in the midst of them reminded me a little of the inevitability of life- it comes at you and unless you decide get out of it you don’t have much choice except to take what comes.  The truly unhappy people, I think, are the ones who are so focused on the end, the shore, on some fixed point in the sand, that they aren’t keeping an eye on the waves.  They’re blindsided every time something big and overwhelming comes along because they’re not embracing what life is really all about.  They’re so concerned about staying afloat and “making it” to some goal that they’re not enjoying the ups and downs, the fullness of life.  It’s even worse when they are standing on the rocks, feeling safe from the waves entirely.  To feel above the ebb and flow of life is to be crushed entirely when it rises to meet you anyway.  The smart ones, though, are happier.  They are the ones busy living and accepting the now, the immediacy of the waves.  They enjoy the uplift and the fall equally because they’re keeping an eye on the waves.  They might not be able to predict where a wave will carry them, where life’s changes will take them on this living journey, but they’re in tune enough to be able to feel the swell of something coming and are ready when it arrives.  Some waves they can surf right on with, letting themselves take wild pleasure in the ride.  Other waves, other of life’s changes, aren’t as good and they get washed over, swamped in, tumbled a little even, but because they were watching and willing, content to embrace what was sent their way, they’re not overwhelmed.  They can resurface, reorient themselves, and keep on living.   I want to be like that.  Not that I want life to wash me away, but that I want to embrace what comes.  I want to be open and unafraid of changes and unexpected events.  I want to live with my toes but lightly in the sand and the rest of me afloat, in tune, ready for the full experience.  I’ve spent a lot of time being too focused on a fixed point and have been knocked over when the unexpected came at me.  I am learning, I think, to be freer, to learn to appreciate all of life’s up and downs rather than fighting so much to stay in one place and maintain a fixed idea of how things should be.  I am learning to let go and float free of preconceived notions of what I simply must have, must do, must be in order to be content.

