Saturday I sat and ate lunch on a bench, barefoot, within sight and sound of the ocean, which was screened by a wall of trees.  There was breeze and shade and I could see big, bright iguanas snacking on leaves in the bushes.  There were whiteface monkeys playing on the roof of a nearby hut.  Earlier a deer nibbled leaves not 10 feet from me.  I climbed a mountain and down the other side.  I saw a swarm of tiny honey bees at home in their own tree.  I looked down and watched butterflies fluttering above the canopy of coconut palms and liana vines.  Orchid petals drifted down on me from the trees.  I sweated- even from my kneecaps.  Mud covered my feet and splattered all the way up my legs.  I smelled of salt, sun, and sand.  Howler monkeys swung over my head and chattered at me.  I watched the tide roll in.  I dragged my toes in the rich brown sand.  I breathed.  I did not fall into this life, I jumped.  I am here.  I am blessed.

The bay at Curu Wildlife Preserve

Saturday I sat and ate lunch on a bench, barefoot, within sight and sound of the ocean, which was screened by a wall of trees.  There was breeze and shade and I could see big, bright iguanas snacking on leaves in the bushes.  There were whiteface monkeys playing on the roof of a nearby hut.  Earlier a deer nibbled leaves not 10 feet from me.  I climbed a mountain and down the other side.  I saw a swarm of tiny honey bees at home in their own tree.  I looked down and watched butterflies fluttering above the canopy of coconut palms and liana vines.  Orchid petals drifted down on me from the trees.  I sweated- even from my kneecaps.  Mud covered my feet and splattered all the way up my legs.  I smelled of salt, sun, and sand.  Howler monkeys swung over my head and chattered at me.  I watched the tide roll in.  I dragged my toes in the rich brown sand.  I breathed.  I did not fall into this life, I jumped.  I am here.  I am blessed.
