According to the Costa Rica Daily News

5.3 Quake Hits Costa Rica

Costa Rica was rocked and rolled at 9:26am by an earthquake that was felt throughout most of the country.

According to the Observatorio Vulcanológico y Sismológico de Costa Rica (OVSICORI), the quake registered 5.3 on the Richter scale, with an epicentre some 17 kilometres southwest of Cóbano, Puntarenas, at the mouth of the Golfo de Nicoya.

The depth was calculated at 15 kilometres, the same location of the 1990 Cóbano earthquake.

Marino Proti of the OVSICORI explains that the area is active all year round and that more than 20 aftershocks have been registered.

As I finished up my yoga this morning the world around me began to shake!  I’ve never been through an earthquake before, so I had NO idea what to do!  For the twenty seconds it lasted, the only thing going through my mind was adrenaline and the prayer that my roof wouldn’t fall down on my head.  Then it was over.  Nothing irreparably broken, no damage to the house I live in… just one shaken flatlander who’d never experienced an earthquake before.  Scary, but also rather exhilarating since no one was injured and there was little property damage.  Immediately after the quake, the howler monkeys and dogs all over the valley set up an amazing racket…howls and barks and general hubbub.  I guess they don’t like being shaken around any more than the people do.  My new down-the-hill neighbor and I stood in our yards looking around and laughing at one another’s wide-eyed looks of breathless surprise.  Then we both went back about our routines.  It shook off and on all day, in tiny little shivers as the plates settled back down again, but other than that all was well.   Still, I’ve had an infernally hard time settling down and writing today, hugely because of the adrenaline, I’m sure.  I was certainly in fight-or-flight mode at 9:26 this morning!  Funny, I wanted an adventure…looks like I’m getting one.

