9 Things I’d Never Done Before*

 

It's been forever, but I actually remember how to do this!

 

1)      Drinking coffee with milk fresh from the cow.

2)      Having beans and rice for breakfast.

3)      Seeing chocolate before its chocolate.

4)      Horseback riding in the mountains.

5)      Getting my 4-wheel-drive truck stuck.

6)      Being hugged by a 96 year old woman.

7)      Cooking on a wood stove.

8)      Eating homemade cheese for lunch.

9)      Waking up to toucans outside my window

 

There's nothing wrong with the picture, it really is just that foggy a lot of the time.

 

Last week I mentioned to my new friend, Carlos, that I was a bit bored in Montezuma these days, and he had an idea.  It’s October- the month of rain- and there’s no tourism, so his job is effectively pointless.  He might make enough money to buy himself groceries, but that’s about it in October.  He usually goes to visit his dad, who lives on a farm in the south, during the rainy season.  Why not, he suggested, go with him?  There would be a big house with plenty of room.  It would be a vacation from my vacation, a change from the ‘not much new’ going on in Montezuma right now.  I considered it for a bout 10 seconds and agreed.  Why not?  This is, after all, an adventure.

 

The clouds sit right on the mountains, and the valleys are greenly cultivated. The air is cool.

 

So, Tuesday morning, we loaded up in my truck and took off.  It was a long drive, from ferry to beach to mountains and beyond, and we ended up a stone’s throw from the Panamanian border, on a finca (farm) approximately in the middle of nowhere.  It’s gorgeous.  It’s cool in the mountains.  In the south the roads make a tiny bit more sense.  They’re still bad, but at least they ride along the ridge-lines of the mountains rather than being blasted straight through them and then badly built up like in the center of the country, where the news has been filled with stories of collapsed roads and landslides caused by the bad construction.  There are no tourists in the south, either.  Things are cheaper, more “native,” and there’s an abundance of wildlife.  The population is less dense, and the farms are vast mountain-straddling places.  There are reservations of native “Indios” there, many of whom can be seen walking around town, going about their daily lives in traditional dress.

I had a profusion of new experiences there, and am glad I went.  I’m home now, of course, but this adventure of mine continues to boggle me.  I’m writing.  I’m learning.  I’m stretching.  I’m not sure what’s next or what the universe intends to do with me through all of this.  I simply know that, for now, I’m continuing to open myself to whatever growth and understanding, experiences and changes God offers me.  Life, I must say, is interesting.

*Details to come later.
