Nicaragua Trip: Day 2

I yoga everywhere I possibly can.  Sometimes I get strange looks, as people who don’t get yoga walk past me wondering what on earth I’m doing, but mostly it’s no big deal.  When I’m somewhere public, like the hotel I stayed at in Granad, I try my best to find an out-of-the-way corner where I won’t be observed by everybody.  Not because I’m embarrassed, but because people walking past are a distraction.  And then I’ll tip over.  And then I’ll be embarrassed.

Any quiet corner will do.

My very first morning at La Oasis, I scouted around the mostly-sleeping hostel, taking some photos and looking for space to do yoga.  The best spot I found was a small rectangle of patio space just outside the door to my room.  It was off on the quieter end of the hostel, so that made sense.  Plus, most of the ample courtyard space throughout the hostel was taken up with furniture, hammocks, potted plants… there wasn’t much space that wasn’t walkway.  Luckily, the courtyard my room looked out onto has this random little chunk of tiled corner.  It was, literally, just big enough for my yoga mat and me.

The 'view' from my room

And so, that’s where I planted myself.  As I breathed in deeply, the city was just beginning to wake.  I listened to the early morning quiet, amazed at how different the city is from my little hill-side cabin near the jungle.  In Montezuma, there’s a chorus of birds singing and calling, all awake with the sun, as well as the cat talking to me, the monkeys howling across the valley.  It’s not ‘quiet’ even when it’s quiet.  In Granada, the only birds I heard were doves and pigeons, their soft cooing a hushed music to my otherwise silent practice.  Off in the distance, I could hear the muffled sounds of the city, cars and motorcycles grumbling along, doors opening and closing, but these were far removed from my still corner.

Statuary, plants, hammocks, and comfy seating are scattered all over the hostel.

Above me, as I stretched myself out into corpse pose to begin the day, the sky was a still gray expanse of cloud cover, and only the faintest of breezes stirred the upper leaves of the lime tree shading me.  A bee buzzed among the leaves, I’m sure looking for a late-blooming flower.  I inhaled and paused a moment and quietly gazed at the round, green fruits silhouetted against the sky.  I noticed, too, that he building next to ours was loosing tiles from the edge of its roof and I wondered…do they know?  How would they?  That edge of roof hangs over the hostel’s courtyard, so tightly packed are the buildings.  But that was just a momentary distraction.

As my practice flowed from one pose to the next, the sun began to shine on the ancient clay tiles and wooden beams of the square of roof I could see in front of me.  I was amazed by the antiquity, and in awe of the lasting nature of old construction.  By the time my yoga was over I was drippingly sweaty in the still air, but the breeze was being serious with the leaves above me and the cloud cover had broken into patchy white puffs against a clear, blue sky.  This, I decided, would be a very, very good day.

And that, I will tell you about in the next post!

The kitchen area at Oasis

One of four central courtyards in the hostel. One holds the kitchen, another the pool. Two are full of greenery.

