At last, news.  Something to write about.  Movement in the direction of adventure.

At last post, I was prepping for a University job in Saudi Arabia.  I was excited, and pretty proud of having landed something both fascinating and extremely lucrative, even if getting there was proving to be frustrating.

Aaaaand…that fell through like a $50,000 deflated souffle.  No fault of my own, there just wasn’t a  visa available for me.  I spent a couple of weeks being frustrated and feeling trapped, having waking nightmares that I was going to be stuck forever in a dead-end job, mooching off of my amazingly generous relatives.  But that can’t last; nothing lasts forever and I know it.  So, I got back in the job hunting game.

Before, I passed on every other job offer I got because I had committed to waiting for the Saudi job.  I don’t regret that, but it left me feeling  pretty burned when it didn’t work out.  So, this time, I promised myself I would take the first reasonable offer I got and just GO with it, trusting the Universe to know what was best for me and relying on my sense of adventure to help me succeed.

I spent the end of August and all of September interviewing, and being told, “We’d love to have you join us/place you with one of our schools.  We will contact you closer to January when the new semester starts.”  Let me tell you, that sounded a lot like more of the same…yes, it’s a good offer; no, it won’t be happening any time soon.  I said, “Thanks, I’d love that,” and kept on looking.  Then, 2 weeks ago, I interviewed with a school in Mexico and was thrilled to hear, “The teacher who was here had to resign.  We need someone immediately.”

Yay!  But I was hesitant, too.

It’s a private Catholic school.  I’m not even a little bit Catholic.

It’s teaching 5th grade.  That’s ‘little people’ in my estimation, and I’m not trained for little people.

It’s going to pay a lot less than I could get elsewhere.

It’s October, and going now means missing all the Halloween I was gearing up for.

But… It’s now.  It’s experience for my resume.  It’s an adventure.  It’s change.  It’s just 10 months.  It’s Mexico, where I’ll get to skip out on winter all together.  How could I say no?

So, I’m packing, making plans, buying plane tickets, asking questions, saying good bye (today was my last day at World Market), sleeping restlessly, and working on staying sane.  This time next week, I will have spent my first full day in Orizaba, Veracruz, Mexico.

Whoa.

I promise to take TONS of pictures, and tell you all about it.

Thank you, Google Maps.

