Today in class, my older students and I talked about Urban Legends.  We didn’t get nearly as much work done as I had planned but, frankly, spending an hour talking over each other in English, filling in each other’s blanks and sharing stories was just as valuable as any book-work they could have done.  And, even better, we all had fun with it!

They told me all about the old hospital in Orizaba: how the stories say a ghostly nurse in an old-timey uniform visits the dying and eases them into death; how they say there once was an orderly who stole dead bodies and ate them sitting on the railroad bridge; how one elevator often allows patients to consult with an elderly doctor who disappears when the doors open again; and more.  I heard about a house in the center of town so haunted that anyone who tries to spend a night there will wake up outside no matter how well they lock themselves in, because the ghosts don’t want a living owner for their haunt.  I found out that, supposedly, the cemetery in town plowed over graves to create a wide central pathway and now, if you visit in the wee hours, you can see ghostly bodies in the fog.  I learned, too, that they say you don’t want to flash your headlights at other drivers at night, because they just may be members of the Cluba de Sangre (the Bloods) who will chase you down and kill you (yeah, that’s an urban legend… never really happened in the states either).  Most hilarious of all, I learned that, forget Bloody Mary, if you stand in front of a mirror in Mexico and say “Chuck Norris, Chuck Norris, Chuck Norris,” he will appear.

Pardon me, while I go find a mirror.

Yep. That’s Chuck.

