The day after Christmas, I packed up early and left Valladolid.  I did so with a little sorrow, as I’d really enjoyed the hostel there and the people staying at it with me, but I was ready for the beach.

Tulum was packed with people and I wasn’t at all sure I’d be able to find a place to stay.  In checking online, nothing had been available, but I had called several hostels and a few had told me, “Just come in and ask when you get here.  We might have a bed.”  So I knew I had to get there early and give myself time to find and question all the local hostels.  I started with the most likely one first, the one farthest outside of town…and hole-in-one!  They had a bed available, it was within my budget, and I didn’t ask any more questions.  At that point I knew I couldn’t really afford to be picky.

I was checked in by lunchtime and quickly set out for the ruins.  It may not have been the cleanest place I’ve stayed, but it didn’t take me long to love the fact that my hostel lent us bikes, was right across the highway from the ruins, and was the closest one to the beach.  Town, schmown…give me beach!!!

6 days in the sun?  Thanks much, don’t mind if I do!

The ruins were gorgeous, if crowded.  The water was crystal blue and warm.  The sand was glittering white, and the breeze was glorious.  The slideshow below will tell you more.

