Slip on across the veil, sweet soul,

She grew up with the circus wintering in her back yard.

She grew up with the circus wintering in her back yard.

It’s an adventure waiting to be;

There are mountains to climb, rivers

To swim, yet wilder vistas to see,

New people to meet, and life renewed,

While this life has been drunk to its leas.

.

Slip on across the veil, sweet soul,

There are loved ones waiting for you.

Your race is run, your work is done,

There’s nothing vital here left to do.

Beyond now are arms, open wide,

Just longing to embrace you anew.

.

Slip on across the veil, sweet soul,

Prepare, as well, a safe place for me;

She was one of the most sweetly playful people I've ever known.

She was one of the most sweetly playful people I’ve ever known.

I’ll catch you on the other side

Just an eye-blink and there I will be

When that day comes, rejoicing, we’ll

Be together for eternity.

.

Slip on the cross the veil, sweet soul,

There is nothing for which you should fear.

You’re already loved by those there,

And will be ever remembered here.

Many eager hearts await you;

Go rest now; your path onward lies clear.

.

Slip on across the veil, sweet soul,

Worry not for those you leave behind;

We are strong, smart, and united,

We’ve learned to be good and to be kind

Together, so we will move on,

Be well, and keep you ever in mind.

.

So slip on now across the veil.


I wrote the poem above as I sat, Sunday night, keeping vigil at my mother’s bedside.  Not because I wanted her to leave, but because I was watching her slip away and wanted her to know that she was allowed.  She took her last breath late Monday afternoon as I held the nub of her long-ago-amputated arm, watched over by many of those who loved her best.  While my heart is crushed tonight, hers is at rest.  Wherever she landed, on the other side of death, she’s certainly chasing bubbles and laughing in the eternal sunshine.  She is whole, and the disease which stole her ability to speak and think is nothing more than a hazy memory.

Bye, Mama.  I hope the stories we tell of you as the years pass on are even half as wonderful as you were in real life.  You were the light that guided me and the heart that held me up.  My world will never be the same without you in it, and I already miss you more than I have words to express.

She loved a good reason to dress up, and I think I got my love of costume parties, in part, from her.

She loved a good reason to dress up, and I think I got my love of costume parties, in part, from her.

She could be pensive, and she often didn't share her feelings well.

She could be pensive, and she often didn’t share her feelings well.

Beyond all else, she happily fueled my love of traveling as much as she possibly could.

Beyond all else, she happily fueled my love of traveling as much as she possibly could.

